Staff Recognition and Election of Directors Highlight the 132nd Annual Meeting of The Legal Aid Society
Kerry Elgarten (left) and Elon Harpaz (center) discuss post release supervision cases with William Gibney, Director of the Special Litigation Unit of the Criminal Practice.

The 2008 Orison S. Marden Awards for outstanding service and dedication to The Legal Aid Society and its clients were presented at The Legal Aid Society's 132nd Annual Metting to Lois Jackson, a paralegal at Rikers Island, and Clyde Johnson, a paralegal in the Brooklyn Neighborhood Office; Max Martinez, the maintenance coordinator at the Harlem Community Law Offices; Elon Harpaz and Kerry Elgarten, staff attorneys in the Criminal Appeals Bureau who are also working with the Parole Revocation Defense Unit on the post-release supervision cases; and Irwin Shaw, the Attorney-in-Charge of the Manhattan Office of the Criminal Practice. The Annual Meeting was held at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP.

A total of 21 Directors were elected at the meeting; 10 are new Directors. The following persons were elected Directors:

Roger S. Aaron, a Director of the Society and a partner at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP; Douglas F. Curtis, a Vice Chairman of the Society and a partner at Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP; John Desmarais, a partner at Kirkland & Ellis LLP; Willis Goldsmith, a partner at Jones Day LLP; Morton E. Grosz, a Director of the Society and a senior partner at Chadbourne & Parke LLP; John J. Kirby, Jr., a Director of the Society and a retired partner at Latham & Watkins LLP; Daniel F. Kolb, a Director of the Society and a partner at Davis Polk & Wardwell; Rochelle Korman, a Director of the Society and a partner at Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP; Robert O. Link, Jr., a Director of the Society and Managing Partner at Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP; Randy Mastro, a Vice Chairman of the Society and co-partner in charge of the New York office of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP; William McGuinness, a partner at Fried Frank Harris Shriver & Jacobson LLP; Neil Merkl, a partner at Kelley, Drye & Warren LLP; Pamela Miller, a partner at Arnold & Porter LLP; Linda E. Rappaport, a Director of the Society and a partner at Shearman & Sterling LLP; Bradley Ruskin, a partner at Proskauer Rose LLP; Jonathan Schwartz, Executive Vice President and General Counsel of Cablevision Systems Corporation; Dalit Stern, a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; Myron Trepper, a Director of the Society and co-chairman of Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP; Alan Waldenberg, a partner at Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP; Stephen A. Warnke, a partner at Ropes & Gray LLP; and Paul F. Washington, Director of the Society and Senior Vice President, Deputy General Counsel and Secretary of Time Warner Inc.

Twenty-seven members of the staff were recognized for their years of dedicated service to The Legal Aid Society. The employees celebrating their 35th anniversary include: Fredric Bennett, Irma Camacho, George Colon, Anthony Farley, Sigmund Israel, Steven Mechanic, Joseph Miller, Michael Monaghan, Steven Silberblatt and Joseph Torres. Celebrating their 30th anniversary are: James Chubinsky, Gail Geltman, Ernest Giordani, Arthur Perahia and Louis Ullrich. Twenty-five year employees include; Valerie Bell-Bey, Lillian Berrios, Claudia Emanuel, Susan Gibson-O'Gara, Bobette Masson-Churin, Patricia Nevergold, Margaret O'Marra, William Rivera, Paulette Rubinsky, Dorine Sylvester, Alison Webster and Cynthia Wolpert.