Legal Aid Staff Attorney Alan Gordon Is Winner of the 2013 Kleban Prize For The Most Promising Musical Theatre Librettist
FRIDAY, MAY 03, 2013

Alan Gordon, Staff Attorney in the Queens office of The Legal Aid Society's Criminal Defense Practice, has been named the 23rd annual Kleban Prize winner for the most promising musical theatre librettist. The 2013 prizes will be presented on June 24 in a private ceremony hosted by ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) and BMI (Broadcast Music, Incorporated).

Alan wrote the book and lyrics to two full-length musicals with composer Mark Sutton-Smith. The Usual had its premiere at the Williamston Theatre in Michigan in 2012, receiving eight Pulsar nominations from the Lansing City Pulse, and a special Wilder Award from Encore Michigan. Girl Detective received a Citation for Special Merit from the Academy for New Musical Theater, was this year’s selection for Western Kentucky University’s Before Broadway program, and a selection of the Stages New Musical Program in Chicago.

He recently completed The United States of Us with composer Joy Son. Alan is also an essayist and fiction writer. Eight of his Fools’ Guild mystery novels have been published by St. Martin’s Minotaur Books, and have been translated into five languages [correctly, he hopes]. His short fiction and essays have been published in numerous magazines and anthologies, the most recent in Living With Shakespeare from Vintage Press. He is a two-time StorySlam winner at The Moth. He is a graduate of Swarthmore College, where he received the Potter Award for Fiction, and the University of Chicago School of Law. He lives in Queens with his wife and ballroom dance partner, Judy Downer, and their son, Robert.

The Kleban Foundation was established in 1988 under the will of Edward L. Kleban, best known as the Tony® and Pulitzer Prize winning lyricist of the musical "A Chorus Line." The will made provision for two annual prizes, which in recent years have totaled $100,000 each payable over two years, to be given to the most promising lyricist and librettist in American Musical Theatre. The judges making the final determination this year were Director of the Theater Wing at the Kaufman Center, Sean Hartley; award winning composer Henry Krieger (Dreamgirls, The Tap Dance Kid), and Tony Award-winning actress Michele Pawk (Crazy For You, Hollywood Arms, Cabaret).