2013 Recipients of the Orison S. Marden Awards; 87 To Receive Longevity Awards At The November 25th Annual Meeting

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2013 Orison S. Marden Awards, which recognize outstanding service to The Legal Aid Society: Javier Chuck, a Paralegal Casehandler in the Harlem Community Law Office; LaSalle Jones, a Paralegal in the Bronx Criminal Office who also works on the barge at Rikers Island; Stephen Pokart, a Staff Attorney in the Manhattan Criminal Office; Azalia Torres, a Staff Attorney in the Brooklyn Criminal Office; Stephen Myers, a Supervising Attorney in the Brooklyn Neighborhood Office; Sheree Lukowicz, Manager of Billing and Budget Operations in the Finance Department; and Patricia Bath, Director of Communications. A posthumous award will also be presented to Steven Sindos, a Staff Attorney in the Brooklyn Criminal Office, who died at Brooklyn Hospital after suffering cardiac arrest in court.

The awards will be presented at The Legal Aid Society's 137th Annual Meeting on Monday, November 25, 2013, at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, 4 Times Square, from 6 to 8 p.m. All members of The Legal Aid staff are invited. Please join us at the Annual meeting to recognize the many outstanding contributions of these Legal Aid colleagues.

At the Annual Meeting, we will also recognize 87 members of our staff for their years of service.

Celebrating 25 years of service are: Timothy J. Bennett, Bonnie A. Bonica , Adrienne Branch, James W. Brown, Robert J. Budner, Roulston Bumbury, Vanessa M. Burdick, Luis A. Caballero, Sonia Cancel, Carol A. Carter, Maria J. Chiu, Joann Colon-Cimino, Joyce Couvares, Jacqueline Deane, Richard J. Di Marco, Lucretia Delores Dobson, Lisa Donchak, Alanda I. Edwards, Belinda H. Etienne, Allen L. Fallek, Monique Fleury-Brown, Diana Flores, Jacqueline M. Ford, Mark I. Futral, Monica Givens, Chandra Gomes, Maxwell Gould, Laurence Gurwitch, Coleen C. Hall, David M. Kapner, Lisa C. Koinig, Joyce Korn-Winderman, Estajo Koslow, Leigh E. Latimer, Joseph Lavine, Joanne Legano-Ross, Sabieta Lekhraj, Michele Lombardo, Graciela Lopez, Yvette Malave, Andrew R. Mandel, Mildred Martinez, Katheryne M. Martone, Jennifer Michaelson, Renee F. Mittler, Mara Moradoff, Pamela Ann Peters, Vincent T. Phillips, Philip S. Rauch, Jane E. Remler, Cassandra Richardson, Rosemary R. Roman-Hare-Bey, Timothy B. Rountree, Ralph Henry Roye, Jacqueline Samuels-Jaffee, Marcia Seckler, Susan Sevin, Carolyn J. Silvers, Jill L. Wade, Mayphill P. Whyte, Deborah M. Williams, Genitha Wint, and Mary Zaslofsky.

Celebrating 30 years of service are: Lillian Berrios, Marjorie R. Bryson, Katherine A. Burton, Bobette M. Masson-Churin, Patricia Nevergold, Susan Gibson-O’Gara, Margaret M. O’Marra, William Rivera, Paulette A. Rubinsky, Dorine H. Sylvester, and Alison Webster.

Celebrating 35 years of service are: James Chubinsky, Gail H. Geltman, Ernest Giordani, Arthur Perahia, Nanette Schrandt, and Louis Ullrich.

Celebrating 40 years of service are: Fredric Bennett, Irma M. Camacho-Eleutiza, James I. Ende, Michael J. Monaghan, Steven Silberblatt, and Joseph Torres.

Celebratring 45 years of service is Victor S. Castelli.