Directors Elected and Staff Honored at 133rd Annual Meeting
Alan Levine at the Annual Meeting

Alan Levine, Chairman, presided over The Legal Aid Society's 133rd Annual Meeting on November 18, 2009, at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, at which new Directors were elected to the Board of Directors and the Board of Advisors and members of the staff were recognized.

Four members of the staff received the Orison S. Marden Award for outstanding service and dedication to the clients of The Legal Aid Society. They are: Connie Belnavis, a member of the data staff in the Manhattan office of the Juvenile Rights Practice; Jesse Uhrman, a social work supervisor in the Defender Services program in the Manhattan office of the Criminal Practice; Edna Schwartz, a staff attorney in the Brooklyn office of the Criminal Practice; and Scott Rosenberg, the Attorney-in-Charge of the Civil Practice’s Law Reform Unit. Orison S. Marden, a partner at White & Case LLP, was a leader of the Bar who dedicated 40 years of service to The Legal Aid Society as a pro bono lawyer, a member of the Board of Directors and as Chairman of the Board of Directors for many years until his death in 1975. He served as President of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, the New York State Bar Association, and the American Bar Association.

Fin Fogg, Legal Aid President, and Steve Banks, Attorney-in-Chief presented the Orison S. Marden Medals to the four recipients during the Society's 133rd Annual Meeting November 18 at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP.

Forty-one members of the staff who have been with the Society for 25 years, 30 years, and 35 years were also recognized. Fifteen members of the staff are celebrating their 35th anniversary with the Society. They are; Jose Aponte, Helena Carmona, Ana Cecilio, James Ende, Burt Grayman, Marshall Green, Seymour W. James, Nanette Kripke, Sheila Lin Nelson, Salvatore L. Pisano, Stephen P. Pokart, Dominic J. Profaci, Clark E. Simpkins, Harvey Weiss, and Ramon Willoughby. Seven employees are celebrating their 30th anniversary. They are: Juanita Cruz-Cataquet, Emily Kitay, Anna Niewdach, Stephen Plotkin, Arnaldo Rivera, Nanette Schrandt and Douglas J. Seidman. Twenty employees are celebrating their 25th anniversary with the Society. They are: Natalie Albert, Carmine Annunziato, Daniel S. Ashworth, Susan C. Bahn, Katherine A. Burton, Marjorie R. Bryson, Bruce Friedman, Alan R. Gordon, Carlie M. Gordon, Adrienne Hale, Lauren K. Headley, Ana C. Morales, Alan L. Peck, Yvette Rivera, Scott A. Rosenberg, Susan Sternberg, Jackie Walker, Ronald Weiss, and Dale A. Wilker.

New Directors elected to the Board of Directors include Peter A. Bicks, the Partner in Charge of the New York office of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP; Steven G. Kobre, a partner at Kobre & Kim LLP; Martin Nussbaum, a partner at Dechert LLP; Gregory K. Palm, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary of Goldman Sachs; and Richard Shutran, a partner at Dewey & LeBoeuf LLP and a former Director who has served on the Board of Advisors. He is also a former Legal Aid attorney. J. Peter Coll, a partner at Orrick Herrington, and Jonathan D. Siegfried, a partner at Dewey & LeBoeuf LLP, were elected to the Board of Advisors, having served two consecutive terms on the Board of Directors.