The 2017 Annual Awards Dinner

The Legal Aid Society’s 40th Annual Awards Dinner will be held on Thursday, May 11, at Cipriani 42nd Street, honoring Sara Moss and Marc Wolinsky as the 2017 Servants of Justice.

The Co-Chairs for the event are Evan Chesler; Michael Fricklas; Andrew Levine; Randy Mastro; James J. McNasby; and Bernard W. Nussbaum. Cocktails are at 6:00 p.m. followed by dinner at 7:15 p.m.

For additional information, please visit our Annual Dinner event page or contact the Society’s Development Office at 212-577-3987 or email

The 2016 Annual Awards Dinner

The Legal Aid Society’s 39th Annual Awards Dinner was held on Thursday, May 12, at the iconic Waldorf=Astoria Hotel, honoring Patricia M. Hynes, Daniel F. Kolb, and Roy L. Reardon as the 2016 Servants of Justice.

The Legal Aid Society was pleased to welcome close to 800 friends and supporters to celebrate the work of the Society and the impact it has on our clients.

Honorary Chairs for the event included Richard I. Beattie; Kenneth R. Logan; Roy L. Reardon, Jr.; Thomas C. Rice; Pamela and Michael Chepiga; Abigail Reardon; Thomas J. Reid; and Mary Kay Vyskocil.

The 2015 Annual Awards Dinner

On May 20, 2015, The Legal Aid Society held its 38th Annual Awards Dinner, recognizing The Servants of Justice Award Honorees - Betsy and Kenneth Plevan and The Theodore Roosevelt Award Recipients, Nancy and Frederic Poses.

The event raised a record-breaking amount of funds which will further the mission of The Legal Aid Society’s Civil Practice to improve the lives of low-income New Yorkers by helping vulnerable families and individuals to obtain and maintain the basic necessities of life.

With more than 700 dedicated supporters in attendance, we celebrated 139 years of providing quality representation to low-income New Yorkers.

The 2014 Annual Awards Dinner

The Legal Aid Society's 37th Annual Awards Dinner, honoring Brad Karp, Chairman of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP, as the 2014 Servant of Justice Award recipient, and Joshua Harris, Co-Founder and Chief Investment Officer of Apollo Global Management, as the recipent of the Theodore Roosevelt Award, was the most successful in the Society's history. The dinner was held last night at the Waldorf=Astoria.

The 2013 Annual Awards Dinner

The Legal Aid Society's 36th Annual Awards Dinner, held on May 9 at the Waldorf Astoria, was the most successful in the organization's history. Philip T. Ruegger, former Chair of the Executive Committee of Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP, received the Society's 2013 Servant of Justice Award, and Raymond J. McGuire, Citi's Global Head of Corporate and Investment Banking, received the Theodore Roosevelt Award.



The 2012 Annual Awards Dinner

The Legal Aid Society's 35th Annual Awards Dinner, held May 10, 2012, at the Waldorf Astorial, was the most successful in the organization's history. Barbara Lyne and Mel Immergut received the Society's 2012 Servant of Justice Award and Duncan L. Niederauer, CEO of NYSE Euronext, received the Society's Theodore Roosevelt Award. Mr. Immergut is a Vice Chair of the Society and the Chairman of Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy LLP. Ms. Immergut is a member of the Society's Advisory Board.

The 2011 Annual Awards Dinner

A record attendance of 1,000 banking and corporate executives and leaders of the Bar joined in the tribute to Alan Levine as The Legal Aid Society's 2011 Servant of Justice and to Mark T. Gallogly as the recipient of the Theodore Roosevelt Award at the 34th Annual Awards Dinner May 12 at the Waldorf Astoria.

The 2010 Annual Awards Dinner

The Legal Aid Society's Annual Awards Dinner 2010 was the highest grossing in the history of The Legal Aid Society with $2.3 million raised and 1,000 guests in attendance. The 2010 Servant of Justice Award was presented to H. Rodgin Cohen, Senior Chairman of Sullivan & Cromwell LLP, and Barbara Cohen, a former Chair of The Legal Aid Society’s Civil Support Division, a fundraising committee. Receiving the Theodore Roosevelt award were Harvey R. Blau, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Griffon Corporation, and his wife Arlene Blau.

The Legal Aid Society’s Annual Awards Dinner

The Legal Aid Society's Annual Awards Dinner is held every May at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel. The gala event was established in 1977 to raise money to support the civil work of The Legal Aid Society. There are two awards presented:

  • The Servant of Justice Award—recognizing commitment to the mission of equal access to justice for all within the legal community
  • The Theodore Roosevelt Award—recognizing commitment to citizenship and humanitarianism within the New York corporate community
  • Past Honorees